Comma “,” ในภาาษาอังกฤษเราสามารถแบ่งออกได้เป็น 4 ประเภทคือ

  1. introducers
  2. coordinators
  3. inserters
  4. tags

ซึ่งในแต่ละประเภทนั้นจะเกี่ยวข้องกับเรื่องของ independent clause ไม่ทางใดก็ทางหนึ่ง ยกเว้น coordinator ที่เชื่อมได้หลายอย่าง

Introducer Commas

ถูกวางอยู่ข้างหน้า independent clause อันแรกเสมอ โดยส่วนใหญ่จะใช้กับ transition เช่น

Therefore, she can’t swim.

หรือใช้กับ dependent clause

Because I have a flu, my doctor recommended that I should drink a lot of water.

Coordinator Commas

ใช้นำหน้า coordinator (and, but, yet, or, nor, for, so) – FANBOYS

เช่น

I love a cat, but I hate a dog.

ซึ่งทำหน้าที่เชื่อ 2 independent clause เข้าด้วยกัน

หรือใช้ในการแบ่ง elements (items) ในประโยคดังต่อไปนี้

I can speak English, French, Spanish and Thai. (3 ส่วนขึ้นไป)

I hate to work at night, on weekends, and on holidays.

Inserter Commas

ถูกวางไว้ข้างหน้าและข้างหลังตัวเชื่อมระหว่างกลางของ independent clause

My friend, however, refuses to quit drinking.

My aunt, his son, died of car accident.

Tag Commas

ถูกใช้เมื่อเราจะเพิ่ม element ลงไปต่อท้ายประโยค

I walk for a hour every day, for instance.

He appears to love sky diving, however.

It is not dead, is it?

I always say, “I’ll be there for you.”