ESS or Enterprise Support System consists of so many systems and each system has its own issues. As an IT guy who has to cover all integration application of ESS, I couldn’t just rely on Weblogic console or EM anymore. I need something fast enough to handle any unexpected event just-in-time. I’ve been dreaming about a tool that can covers most of the important aspects for each application, for sometimes now, since I was working with OSM 7.0. So I just built one.

For example, AIA, the heart (blood vessel) of RODOD which is quite stable but somehow we always see Session Pool Manager(SPM) being hog-up by long running sessions which can be kill via AIA’s WS API, however, AIA does not provide any good-enough management GUI for SPM so I have to built one by myself due to repetitive request to see current status and killing session of SPM on the cluster.

AIA

After implemented the SPM, I had a thought, should I create another cool button for other functions that I often use. SAFAgent and JMSModule are the most used functions on Weblogic console for me. So, I implement it via JMX interface calling Weblogic admin server for domain runtime mbeans. And the result is amazing, SAFAgents can be paused under 10 seconds for AIA, OSB and OSM. Before this was more than 5 minutes. I love this button the most.
For JMS module, after I begin with standard status like current, pending and receive. I feel like I should be able to filter it, only the part I want should be shown and it should be able to reload it-self. That is, I spent another day to implement this function which is pretty awesome.
There’s one more left-out function with AIA, start/stop composite button, which i’m trying to make one (hope I could make it via easy way)

OSM

For OSM, one of the most delicate system in RODOD, I had implemented a monitoring/recover tool for OSM7.0 which can be used with OSM7.2, but requires some changes in URL. So, I just took the monitoring graph and left alone the recovery part for now.

OSB

OSB seems to be the strongest guy in the team, with a proper tuning and setting you barely need to do anything with it but somehow you just need some control over it anyway.

Putting everything in one HTML page is quite amazing, you don’t need to go here and there anymore, everything just a few clicks away.
However, I wrote this pretty lame, everything still hard-coded in java (urls and mbeans). A lot needs to be improved, I hope I can finish it sooner or later. This might be the greatest monitoring tool I’ve ever written.

Key technologies
– Ajax
– Servlet
– JMX
– SOAP